SPFFA History

MAY 8, 1939 to OCTOBER 31, 1998

On May 8 1939, the township of Scarborough’s 7 full time fire fighters, Thomas Love, George Collins, William Crates, Gordon Ranson, James Bernard, Fredrick Rate and John Wormington were granted a Charter under the International Association of Fire Fighters, and the Scarborough Professional Fire Fighters Association Local 626 was born.

As Scarborough grew so did the Fire Department from those first seven to a high at one time of 504. By 1998 the Scarborough Professional Fire Fighters Association represented 487 full time paid professional fire fighters, fire prevention officers, and technicians in the City of Scarborough. The City had a population of 550,000 and was approximately 72 sq. miles in size.

This growth saw the Association with 9 executive officers which included the President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer. The Locals Executive Board worked hard at representing the 487 full time paid professional fire service employees. In 1988 the Association moved into a permanent office located at 695 Markham Rd. in Scarborough.

When the Association received it’s Charter in 1939, Thomas Love not only became the first President but was also fire chief, in checking past records and talking to many of our retired brothers, it’s believed he was president for about 5 years. Other past presidents include Harry Treadway 1952-1954, Earl Strong 1956-1958, Bud Wallace 1959 – 1960, William MacFarlane 1961-1970, Ron Merriman 1971 – 1972 & 1979, Ted Barnes 1973-1978, and Barry Papaleo 1979 until 1998. After 59 years the Scarborough Professional Fire Fighters Association office closed October 31, 1998


On October 5, 1998, the Toronto Professional Fire Fighters’ Association – IAFF Local 3888 was established this was a result of a merger of the former six Metropolitan Toronto Fire Fighter IAFF Locals – Toronto 113, York 411, East York 418, Scarborough 626, North York 752, and Etobicoke 1137. this merger was the result of the forced amalgamation of the former cities by the Provincial Government. The Scarborough Professional Fire Fighters’ are proud to be a part of this new beginning, as a united group the Toronto Professional Fire Fighters will forge ahead and prosper together.


The Scarborough Fire Fighters were affiliated with the International Association of Fire Fighters: the Provincial Federation of Ontario Fire Fighters (PFOFF); the Ontario Federation of Labour and the Canadian Labour Congress.

In October 1997 the Provincial Federation of Ontario Fire Fighters (PFOFF) and the Ontario Professional Fire Fighters Association (OPFFA) merged after having been separate for about 15 years. The Scarborough Fire fighters were proud to be a part of the new Ontario Professional Fire Fighters Association. The OPFFA represents approximately 9,000 Professional Fire Fighters across the Province of Ontario.

Local 626 Presidents

Harry Treadway
Harry Treadway 1952 – 1954
George Painter
George Painter1955
Earl Strong
Earl Strong 1956 -1958
Bud Wallace
Bud Wallace 1959 – 1960
Mickey McFarlane
Mickey McFarlane 1961 – 1970
Ron Maerriman
Ron Merriman 1971 – 1972, 1978
Ted Barnes
Ted Barnes 1973 – 1978
Barry Papaleo
Barry Papaleo 1980 – 1998

Dave Forgie

Dave Forgie – PFOFF President – 1953 -1954

Papleo Hastings

50 Years AffilliationIAFF 13th District Vice-President Elliott Hastings presents President Barry Papaleo with a certificate honouring Scarborough’s 50 years.